Here’s the thing….

I’m tired now,

I was tired yesterday,

and I will probably be tired tomorrow.

It’s not my job,

it’s not the heat,

it’s not even the cat callers.

It is you.

Because  I have to tell you everyday that I am fine.

You don’t care,

I don’t care,

nobody cares…

But I want to,

please know that I want to care.

It’s just that once I open those gates,

the flood will kill me.

Deep down, I have a savior complex,

they can smell it.

Emotional  vampires.

I’ll be wrung dry before we can meet at the elevator and perform our little greeting ritual.


Leave a Reply

