Not hiding

There are promises you make yourself. Never again, I’m done with that, I deserve better, I’m going to make better choices.

There are mantras you sing in your head just before you leave the house. I will hold my head high today, I am beautiful, I am special, my day will come.

There are lies we must accept. Humanity is at its heart, good, this is as bad as it gets, the world is good to those who are good.

There are things we wish for, some we hope for. A light at the end of the tunnel, happiness, love, acceptance, abs.

There are secrets we keep. Cocaine, an affinity for ropes and gags, anorexia, intelligence, loneliness.

There are things we fear. Each other, the truth, death.


Leave a Reply

