My cat Sam

When I was 10, I got a cat. I called her Sam, short for Samantha. She was a cool cat. Problem was, I was not a cool kid.

I spoke to her, bathed her, pretended to like talent shows on TV because she loved them. Sam slept in my bed and was the first real friend I had. By the time I was 12, I felt like I was the real cat woman.

I have an aunt who is a bit of a bitch. It’s not normal she says. Imagine what people think when they see her talking to a cat. Well aunty, they will not see anything with their eyes scratched out.

I can tell now that it was hard on mum who got Sam for me in the first place. But she patted my head, Sam is her friend, friends talk. Because she is a bit of an Angel.


Leave a Reply

