Starlight

It’s a sky full of light,

Never mind that a star shines its brightest before it dies,

Before the black that is no light.

And does the sun, when it shines, think of death.

Does the sun look at the earth and shine a little brighter for the life it has created.

Does it worry for us?

Hope for us?

Does it know that I am afraid of the dark?

For me the world was created,

And the dark, night, in all its majesty,

The star systems, out galaxy,

Only make me smaller.

Cold, lost, alone,

So that the sun shines on me,

As it shines on all humans.

I am a drop in the ocean,

I am but dust and ashes…a grain of sand on the beach of life.


Leave a Reply

