Compromise

When I stop trying you will know.

I will not scream anymore,

no welling up after I yell at you.

I will not run away and spend nights at my girl’s.

No more exiles to the couch.

You will know.

I’ll get the bacon, not a word about cholesterol.

Shrug when you go out.

You phone, computer, tab will be safe,

you can go back to the universal iambatman password.

It annoys you so I won’t choose your ties or ask about my outfits,

getting dressed will take half an hour, tops.

I will be complacent,

I will be content,

I will be a dream.

 


Leave a Reply

