Break out

I’ve got a buzzing in my bonnet. The kind you get after 48+ hours without sleep. The odd pulsing excitement mixed in with numbness. And I’m walking around with a bounce in my step, not tired, not even a little bit. Sleep will come, I know it like I know the dopamine will ease from my system and I will crash spectacularly.

I still have the stink of solitary confinement on me. I have the look of man long lived in the shadows. I take deep breaths of free air and don’t bother to look over my shoulder. They will find me. I know it. Just as I know that the bank across the street has used the same old school safe with the same old testament locking system.

There will be no sleep for me as yet. But soon, soon I will rest.


Leave a Reply

