Swan song

With a bang not a fizzle.
My heart broke a thousand different times.
There was laughter music and fun.
But the pile of good things did nothing for the pile of bad things.
I could not have known.
It was not a life sentence,
Just marched on,
But it could have ended tomorrow.
If I had known,
If I had known where to find a light.
I sat there with the devil on my shoulder,
Whispering sweet nothings in my ear.
Then I had a chance,
I caught a break for just a moment.
And there you were.
I was happy,
You should know.
No show, or smoke screens.
Never doubt it,
Stop replaying it.
You are in the pile of good things.


Leave a Reply

